Notes from Life's Journey

October 2, 2009

Walking in this World

Filed under: Walking — dmbr622 @ 11:41 pm
Tags: , ,

This afternoon I went for my 20-minute weekly walk. I was heading to Toastmasters so I chose to drive to Will Rogers Rose Garden to do my walk. I hadn’t been since my daughter’s wedding there a few days over 20 years ago.

I took my camera and took 115 photos as I walked around the park. As I reviewed the photos I thought, “This is my Father’s world.”P1012029

This is my Father’s world, and to my listening ears
All nature sings, and round me rings the music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world: I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas;
His hand the wonders wrought.

P1012023

Notice the character in the shape of the trees; as the sun moved a little lower in the sky it reflected on the branches. What an amazing world we have.

The park is obviously a friendly place because the squirrels and ducks had no fear and seemed willing to sit for photo ops. I walked down toward the water’s edge and a squirrel leaped up on a rock and took a moment to face me before he P1012026scurried off to bury the nut in his mouth in a nearby lower bed.

The water was incredibly smooth and the foliage reflected on it was beautiful and calming.

The rich colors of the flowers, the interesting P1012075shapes of leaves, and the variations of greens and browns enhanced by the play of the sunlight on it made the walk a joy.

By the time I got back to the place I had entered, the sun was further down in the sky and the clear pond was reflecting yellow and orange on the water and the geese had come out to swim and play.

P1012109What a joy to take a walk in my Father’s world and see his beauty all around. How wonderful to realize God in Genesis said, “Let us make man in our image.” God is creative – look at the amazing variety of color and shape and texture – and I am made in His image.

Julia Cameron in Walking in this World said “Practicing our creativity is healing. Not because we are sick but because we are essentially well. As we express our intrinsic nature, which is beautiful and specific, particular and original, we experience a healing transformation less in ourselves than in our relationship to the world.”

Look at the stock from which we came – God himself. How could we be anything less than “beautiful and specific, particular and original?” As Ethel Waters said, “God don’t make no junk.”

2 Comments »

  1. Very beautiful! When the kids were little we enticed them to go for walks by saying “let’s go on an adventure”. Using that phrase seemed to help inspire all of us to keep our eyes open for whatever was awaiting us.

    Comment by kbea831 — October 3, 2009 @ 5:54 am | Reply

  2. I should use that phrase myself. Unfortunately, my one-block-long neighborhood off a busy street isn’t very conducive to heading out the door to walk. I really have to get in the car and drive somewhere to accomplish a walk. I listened to my book-on-tape in the car, but turned it off when I got to the park – I desired to stay open to hear God’s voice and as you said to be “open for whatever was awaiting” me.

    Comment by dmbr622 — October 3, 2009 @ 6:08 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

